Register now

Keynote Speakers

Dr. Didier Letourneur

Inserm, France

Didier LETOURNEUR, Engineer in Material Sciences, PhD in Chemistry from Paris North University, is Research Director at CNRS. Since 2014, he is the Director of the Laboratory for Vascular Translational Science (LVTS with about 220 persons) affiliated to Inserm and Universities Paris Diderot and Paris North. He also leads the team of Cardiovascular Bioengineering at Bichat Hospital in Paris.

D Letourneur is actively involved in several national grants, in the regional Health Cluster Medicen, and since 2013 as European coordinator of NMP large scale project "NanoAthero" (16 partners, 10 countries). He was also involved in several FP7 European projects (“Fighting Aneurysmal Diseases”; “Nanoantenna”; “Prevention of Late Stent Thrombosis”).

D Letourneur is the author of 180 international publications and inventor of 18 patents. He has more than 100 invited lectures and seminars and is the co-organizer of numerous national and international conferences (India, Tunisia, Canada) and two Inserm training workshops for Regenerative Medicine. He won several prizes: "Coup d’Elan for Research" Bettencourt Foundation 2001, Diderot Innovation Award 2009, Cardiovascular Innovation Award 2011 from French Medical Research Foundation, OSEO Emergence 2012, BPI Creation-Development 2013. In 2016, he obtained the G Winter Award the highest distinction from the European Society for Biomaterials, and in 2017 the Asian Polymer Association Jubilee Award. In 2016, he found the company SILTISS for the development of innovative implants from polysaccharide-based materials.

He was from 2013 to 2016 at the French Council for Health technologies. He was from 2013 to 2015 vice-chairman for Regenerative Medicine at the European Technology Platform for Nanomedicine (ETPN) and is now General Secretaire. From 2016, he is the President of the Inserm scientific committee on Health Technologies & Social Sciences. From 2009, he is President of BIOMAT, French Society for Biomaterials.

Back to keynote speakers